Posted by: Keli | March 25, 2008

What is a Help Meet?

For Easier Printing
Microsoft Word Version: What is a Help Meet Document

When I first started reading, Created to be His Help Meet by Debi Pearl, I was interested in knowing exactly what “help meet” meant. I think John Elderidge explains it best:When God created Eve, he calls her an ezer kenegdo. “It is not good for the man to be alone. I shall make him an ezer kenegdo” Gen 2:18.

These words in Hebrew have been notoriously difficult to translate. The word ezer is used only twenty other places in the entire Old Testament. And in every other instance the person being described is God himself, when you need him to come through for you, desperately.

“I lift my eyes up to the hills–where does my help come from? My help (ezer) comes for the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:1-2

“May the Lord answer you when you are in distress; may the name of the God of Jacob protect you. May he send you help (ezer).” Psalm 20:1-2

“We wait in hope for the Lord, he is our help (ezer) and our shield.” Psalm 33:20

Most of the contexts are life and death, by the way, and God is your only hope. Your ezer. If he is not there beside you then you are dead. A better translation of this word would be “lifesaver.” Kenegdo means alongside, opposite to, or a counterpart. So God made woman as a “Lifesaver standing beside you,” for Adam.When I read this I understood that by design I am to stand with my husband and aid him with the risks he takes. When Wayne was just a college student this didn’t seem like a big deal. But as the years went on and he became a 6th grade teacher, an assistant principal, an elementary school principal, and now a high school principal, I can see that as the risks grew, so did my love for him. Even when he was wrong (and I would tell him when I thought he was wrong) I stood with him in his decision, and every time the Lord worked it all for good according to his purpose and blessed me in the process.

Practicing active good will towards our husband is a powerful tool to she who does it day in and day out. Every good deed done and good word that comes out of our mouths is seed sewn that will reap a harvest one hundred fold.

Remember that you are the “lifesaver” standing beside your husband. With him you can build a household of faith. Let us press in to what the Lord has laid before us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

