Posted by: Keli | March 25, 2008

The Blessing of the Lord

For Easier Printing
Microsoft Word Version: The Blessing of the Lord Document

The earth is the Lord’s and all it contains, the world, and those who dwell in it.For He has founded it upon the seas, and established it upon the rivers.Who may ascend into the hill of the Lord?And who may stand in His holy place?He who has clean hands and a pure heart,Who has not lifted up his soul to falsehood, and sworn deceitfully.He shall receive a blessing from the Lord and righteousness from the God of his salvation.This is the generation of those who seek Him, who seek Thy face—even Jacob.Lift up your head, O gates, and be lifted up, O ancient doors,That the King of glory may come in!Who is this King of glory?The Lord strong and mighty, the Lord mighty in battle.Lift up your heads, O gates, and lift them up O ancient doors,That the King of glory may come in!Who is this King of glory?The Lord of hosts, He is the King of glory.

Psalm 24

One morning I was thinking about the car accident my family was involved in just a few days earlier when the other driver (who was at fault) fled the scene. We were not hurt but sustained damage to our daughter’s car, which we will have to pay for because the other driver took off. A couple of weeks before this accident the transmission went out in my vehicle while coming home from vacation, which was another adventure in itself. The cost of this repair will take some months to save up for. It all seems ironic to me because for years my only desire was to have a car that runs. I have not desired a certain make/model or type of vehicle like many people I know. Every time I think I finally have a car that works, something disastrous happens and I no longer have what I desired: a vehicle that runs.

I have been through five transmissions in the past eight or nine years and have continued to wonder why. So many thoughts run through my mind. Am I such a terrible person that I cannot have a car that just works? Am I so far off the mark that I cannot hear the Lord and what He is trying to teach me, that the same thing continues to happen to me over and over again? I look around and see many people who change vehicles like jackets, some of them believers. What is so wrong with me that I cannot have something, even somewhat older, than everyone else seems to have? This does not appear to be equality in the Body of Christ to me (2nd Corinthians 8).

I opened my Bible and began to read Psalm 24, and saw these words: Who may ascend into the hill of the Lord? And who may stand in His holy place? He who has clean hands and a pure heart, who has not lifted up his soul to falsehood, and sworn deceitfully. He shall receive a blessing from the Lord and righteousness from the God of his salvation. The Lord quickened to me that I am the one who may ascend into the hill of the Lord. I am she who may stand in the holy place. I am the one because He has given me clean hands and a pure heart, and I have not lifted up my soul to falsehood and sworn deceitfully. AND that I have received the blessing from the Lord but it is not material things.

So many times I have considered blessing to mean wealth or the abundance of it, but that is the world’s standard/definition. God showed me the blessing of the Lord is my husband, children, soon-coming grandchild, and the relationships I have within the Body of Christ. It is not just that I have a husband and children, even pagans have that, but the state of these growing relationships with these individuals is the blessing and the fact that they are eternal. They are treasure in the Kingdom of God.

The Hebrew dictionary defines the word “blessing” in this passage to mean “prosperity.” I looked up the word “prosperity” in the dictionary. It says “successful, flourishing, or thriving condition.” It does not specifically refer to material objects, money, or anything you can hold in your hand. It is a condition—the state of something. He (the one who can enter the holy place) shall receive a successful, flourishing or thriving condition from the Lord.

Everyone on this planet has relationships—good and bad. You cannot exist on the planet without some form of relationship. God showed me the blessing is the successful, flourishing, thriving condition of the relationships in my life.

I looked up the word “righteousness” from this passage also. It means “justice, virtue, and uprightness.” This brought to my mind the death of baby Riley in my home while under my care. The situation looked grim, and the officers investigating the situation questioned my care of the child. But the Lord was in it all and the investigation showed no wrongdoing on my part toward Riley. It was a difficult time, but the further the investigative team dug, the more proof they had of my loving heart toward Riley.

The last, and possibly most interesting thing the Lord has shown me in this Psalm and my situation is this: Do not mistake inconvenience for suffering or convenience for blessing. The many broken transmissions were inconvenient and cost us money, but we were not suffering. A car that runs well and is comfortable to drive is not blessing, but a convenience. It is a material object, which will burn with everything else someday. Blessing is the flourishing, thriving condition of the relationships God has ordained for my life—the relationships which form the Body of Christ.

Leave a Reply

Categories

