Posted by: Keli | March 25, 2008

Servanthood

For Easier Printing
Microsoft Word Version: Servanthood Document

Then the mother of Zebedee’s sons came to Jesus with her sons and, kneeling down, asked a favor of Him. “What is it you want?” he asked. She said, “Grant that one of these two sons of mine may sit at your right and the other at your left in your kingdom.””You don’t know what you are asking,” Jesus said to them. “Can you drink the cup I am going to drink?””We can,” they answered.Jesus said to them, “You will indeed drink from my cup, but to sit at my right or left is not for me to grant. These places belong to those for whom they have been prepared by my Father.”

When the ten heard about this, they were indignant with the two brothers. Jesus called them together and said, “You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their high officials exercise authority over them. Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave—just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many. (Matthew 20:20-28)

By the above statement Jesus proclaims His servanthood. There is no such thing as a servant without a master, so we know the master is God the Father. Jesus’ purpose in coming to earth as a man was the instruction of His Master and not necessarily His own idea. But because He chose to be the Father’s servant, He came and did His master’s bidding.

Our attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death—even death on a cross…(Philippians 2:5-8)

In the Garden of Gethsemane Jesus prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.” (Matthew 26:39)

Jesus forsook what He felt and obeyed His Master.

Jesus also told us that to be great in the Kingdom of God we must be a servant. So what exactly does that mean? The dictionary defines a servant as someone expressing submission, recognizance, or debt to another. Sounds simple, doesn’t it? I was thinking about what being a servant is today when the Lord spoke to me. He said, “A servant does not choose how he will serve, but his Master chooses how he will serve.”

I thought about the many times I have thought to myself, “I should do this because it is my gift.” Or I hear someone say that a certain individual should be doing such-and-such because that is their calling. But the Lord has opened my eyes to the beginnings of being His servant. I do not choose how I will serve but listen to hear His voice showing me specifically what to do and when, no matter what the outcome will be. Whether anyone else knows or sees or does not know or see. Regardless of the outcome that I can picture in my head, or the environment in which it takes place, to truly serve is to do my Master’s bidding.

Leave a Reply

Categories

